Dart Smart MPs Take To Ally Pally Oche For Charity

Dart Smart MPs Take To Ally Pally Oche For Charity


Photo: Nigel Adams MP and Anne McLaughlin MP play a short darts match as part of the tournament


More used to facing off in the Houses of Parliament, on 22nd December two MPs will be competing in the inaugural Parliamentary Darts Championship final. Conservative MP, Scott “Hotshot” Mann and the SNP’s Gavin “Laird of the Darts” Newlands take to the oche at Alexandra Palace before Thursday’s evening session at the William Hill World Championships, having made it through a qualifying campaign in the Palace of Westminster.  Nigel Adams MP organised the cross-party tournament for MPs, who played short matches in several elimination rounds throughout the autumn.

“The Oche at Ally Pally has been graced by the likes of Phil Taylor, Raymond van Barneveld and Michael van Gerwen and now two giants of the parliamentary world will be going head to head on the most famous darting stage of all,” said William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly.

Nigel Adams MP added, “I love the darts and so do a great number of people up and down the country – whether playing in the pub with friends or watching the precision of the professionals.  Having a tournament for MPs has been a great way to join in and also to make some new friends across party lines.  Good luck to our two finalists and I hope we can do it again.”

As well as duking it out for a natty trophy, Scott Mann and Gavin Newlands will be competing for the chance to win £1000 for their chosen charity. On top of that, William Hill will be donating £500 to the runner-up’s chosen charity and the Jo Cox Foundation could be the beneficiary of £1800 if either of the competitors hits a 180 and £500 if they hit a bullseye between them.